Dealing with the Infection

Hey, you can be aware that you’re a Zombie and still be infected with the disease! This is an ongoing process that takes time, patience, and a lot of effort.

Like today for example; I got up and got ready for work, I know I still slog back and forth to a place I called work, and I had the best attitude you can have for committing yourself to nine hours of toil for the benefits of another. Anyways, when I got their and started my morning routine I kept running into little bumps and hiccups that were keeping me from getting anything done. After about thirty minutes of frustration I took a step back told myself, “Relax, take your time, you can figure this out.” However, it had already taken root. A NEGATIVE ATTITUDE had already crept in and planted the seeds of a Crappy Day in my mind.

Now, because I allowed this to take place my first two classes of the day were a waste. I was impatient with the kids, I was angry I was there, and my mind was filling faster than I could think to flush out these thoughts.

You see, you can still participate in Zombie like activities and not be a Zombie. In fact most of you who have come to realize that you are Zombies will continue to participate in Zombie like activities. This is usually the result of the lack of means to change your situation. It’s hard. By no way am I attempting to make this process sound easy. This is an ongoing struggle against a disease that can take some people years to figure out. But, believe me when I say it is worth every moment of the expedition.

Back to what I was saying, these negative thoughts kept filling my mind and I was starting to worry that I would lose the whole day to a bad attitude. That’s when the audio listening and reading I do everyday came in and helped out a lot. It practically saved the day. I remember listening to Earl Nightingale’s: The Magic Word, and him mentioning that your life is always on the right path as long as you have the right attitude. On top of that, he points out that you are the only one in the world that controls how you feel about things.

Now think about that for a moment! You are on the right path in life as long as you have the right attitude and you are the only one that controls that attitude!

Now if that doesn’t make you feel empowered and in control then I don’t know what to tell you. It’s true and all you have to do is believe that you are the only one who controls your own emotions and attitudes! You have to believe this!

So, focusing on the fact that it wasn’t the “bumps and hiccups” I had experienced just a few hours before that was giving me a poor attitude and that it was in fact my reaction and inability to control my emotions, allowed me to quickly correct course and salvage the rest of the day with a positive attitude.

I wanted to share this experience with you because I know it’s a common one that usually goes uncorrected. I have had numerous days in the past, as a Zombie, that spun out of “control” just as the day was getting started and ruined the whole day. I mean how many times have you talked to a friend that was having a “bad” day and it was a similar story to what I just told you?

Look, the infection is always going to be there. You, just have to learn how to not let it take over your life. That’s why it is so important for you to listen to positive audio recordings and read daily about how to better yourself.

So, for those of you who are just starting out on this journey, read and listen to some self-help material for just thirty minutes a day. I promise after just two weeks you’ll feel more in control of your life. That’s thirty minutes of reading and thirty minutes of listening.

A good audio to start with is Earl Nightingale’s: The Strangest Secret and a good book to check out is The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People by Stephen R. Covey.

Stay Positive,

-Bill Osmanski

Leave a Reply

